International Cooperation

Font decrease 
Font Normal 
Font Increase 
High Contrast 
Normal Contrast |
External Link : Read more about Duties of Citizen Contest External Link : Read more about Digital India External Link : Read more about Digital Locker External Link : Read more about National Scholorship Portal External Link : Read more about E-Hospital North BlockNorth Block
» International Cooperation
International Cooperation


A.  International Cooperation

  • The Division deals with matters relating to policies/coordination in respect of International/Bilateral Security issues such as Mutual Legal Assistance Treaty, Agreement/MoU on security related matters, security issues pertaining to SAARC, BIMSTEC, ASEAN etc.
  • The modus operandi of perpetrators or potential perpetrators of crime, particularly of those engaged in international terrorism, organized crime and illicit trafficking in narcotic drugs etc has evolved and changed with the advancement of technology and has assumed a transnational dimension. Accordingly, the Ministry has entered into and pursued a variety of multilateral/bilateral initiatives on security related issues with various countries to counter transnational crime, terrorism, and other serious offences, such as drug trafficking, money laundering, counterfeit currency, smuggling of arms and explosives etc.


  • The legal framework for combating Crime including International terrorism includes Treaties on Mutual Legal Assistance in Criminal Matters, Memorandum of Understandings/Bilateral Agreements to counter Organized Crimes, Joint Working Groups on Counter Terrorism/International Terrorism which are signed between India and other countries on bi-lateral basis. Such treaties/agreements are with a view to securing bilateral cooperation against various forms of crime like terrorism, drug trafficking, money laundering, counterfeiting of Indian currency notes.


  • The Ministry of Home Affairs is the nodal Ministry for concluding Mutual Legal Assistance Treaties in Criminal Matters which are designed to facilitate widest measures of mutual assistance in investigation, prosecution and prevention of crime, service of summons and other judicial documents, execution of warrants and other judicial commissions and tracing, restraint, forfeiture or confiscation of proceeds and instruments of crime.
  • These agreements assume importance in combating transnational organized crimes, trans-border terrorism, crimes and other serious offences, such as drug trafficking, money laundering, counterfeit currency, smuggling of arms and explosives, etc. India has so far operationalised these Treaties with the following 39 countries:-
Australia Bahrain Bangladesh Belarus Bulgaria
Bosnia & Herzegovina Canada Egypt France Iran
Kazakhstan Kuwait Malaysia Mauritius Mexico
Myanmar Mongolia Russia Singapore Spain
Sri Lanka South Africa South Korea Switzerland Tajikistan
Thailand Turkey Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom
USA Uzbekistan Vietnam Hongkong SAR Oman
Israel Indonesia Azerbaijan South Korea  
  • Further India along with other SAARC countries has signed a Convention on Mutual Assistance in Criminal Matters in 2008. India has since ratified the Convention. The Convention will come into force after ratification of the Convention by Nepal, Pakistan and Afganistan. The Convention aims to strengthen regional cooperation in investigation and prosecution of crime.


  • Ministry of External Affairs is the nodal authority for setting up of JWG on Counter Terrorism to exchange information and strengthen international cooperation to combat terrorism and transnational organized crime. PP Division acts as an interface with MEA on issues concerning Joint Working Groups on Counter Terrorism set up between India and other countries to discuss bilateral security issues.


  • India has signed bilateral agreements on drug related issues with Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, Israel, Italy, Kuwait, Laos PDR, Mauritius, Myanmar, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkey, UAE, USA and Zambia. Further Memoranda of Understanding on Drug related issues have also been signed by India with Bhutan, Indonesia, Iran, Oman, Pakistan, USA and Vietnam.


  • SAARC was set up in 1985 as an association of States whose aim was to promote the well-being of the population of South Asia and improve their standard of living; to speed up economic growth, social progress and cultural development; to reinforce links between the countries of this area; and, lastly, to promote mutual collaboration and assistance in the economic, social, cultural technical and scientific fields.
  • SAARC is the only regional organization for cooperation in South Asia. It aims to promote peace, trade and development in the region through dialogue and cooperation. The SAARC Secretariat is based in Kathmandu (Nepal).


  • Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a group of countries comprising of ten countries namely: Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. MLATs with Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand, Malaysia and Vietnam are already in force.


  • Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) is an International Organization involving a group of countries in South Asia and South East Asia. The Members of this group are: Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Bhutan and Nepal. BIMSTEC provides a unique link between South Asia and Southeast Asia in the field of multilateral security cooperation. It seeks to build upon the traditional links amongst its member countries. From time to time the member countries hold meetings on security cooperation intelligence sharing, capacity building etc.



  • Hit Count: 25,249,615

Website hosted & maintained by National Informatics Centre. Content provided by Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India

Emblem Ministry of Home Affairs Indian Flag